Craig Reviews | Books I’ve Read This Year | 2

Oh hey, haven’t done this in a while. I’m real bad at saying I’ll post here more, then not doing that. I think it’s because I cannot stop reading, so when I put one book down another literally appears in my hand. I’ll catch you up on what I’ve read this year so far.

9781781081662

Book #4: Hive Monkey – Gareth L. Powell

This is the sequel to the wonderfully insane Ack Ack Macaque. Full of high octane action, filled with twists and turns, this book definitely keeps your turning the page. It was a joy to read, and reminded me why I loved the first book in the series so much. The ensemble cast of characters are all perfectly dysfunctional in their own way, especially the main man (monkey?) himself Ack Ack Macaque. Who wouldn’t love an alcohol drinking, cigar smoking, foul mouthed monkey, who happens to be one of the best goddamn pilots in the world?

21412104

Book #5: Macaque Attack by Gareth L. Powell

The third and final book in the Macaque trilogy, pits Ack Ack Macaque against a multi-dimensional evil, with a gang of multi-dimensional hopping monkeys. Yes, that does sound insane, and believe me it is. When reading this I felt that Powell turned everything up to 11 when writing Hive Monkey, and when he got round to writing Macaque Attack, he said “fuck it” and turned it up to 20. It makes you think about the fun you had with one talking monkey, now just think about the amount of fun you’ll have with 30+ talking monkeys. This series has definitely solidified that I will be buying any future novels Gareth L. Powell will be putting out. If you’re interested, he has a new trilogy coming out in 2018. The first book will be called Embers of War and will feature sentient spaceships!

51fL1a7bI2L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Book #6: Sword Of Destiny by Andrzej Sapkowski

I only have good things to say about the Witcher series. I absolutely adore the world Sapkowski has created. This is the type of fantasy books that I have been craving. Reading this collection of short stories, I most definitely caught the Witcher bug again. So much so that I restarted the Witcher 3 video game, and have lost countless hours to it. I cannot implore you enough to read this series.

9593

Book #7: Galapagos by Kurt Vonnegut

One of my favourite authors of all time. Vonnegut explores evolution with this wild tale that takes place over 1 million years or so. I love Vonnegut’s exploration of human nature, modern life and how even now it still holds weight. Then there are also passages like this: “And people still laugh about as much as they ever did, despite their shrunken brains. If a bunch of them are lying around on a beach, and one of them farts, everybody else laughs and laughs, just as people would have done a million years ago.”

 

Thanks for reading!
What have you been reading this year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

